Teachers of the Year Announcement

President Arlo Pew Adapted Physical Education, Best Practices, Future Professionals, Membership, News & Events, Partnerships, Public Relations/Marketing, State Convention


Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to the following Health and Physical Education Teachers for being named 2019 Teachers of the Year.

Arizona Health and Physical Education will present the Teacher of the Year Awards at the Honor and Recognition Night which will be held on Wednesday November 20, at the Children’s Museum of Phoenix.

In addition, please join us at the State Convention, November 21 – 22, at the Phoenix Convention Center to honor these individuals and to thank them for their service to our profession.

If you would like to join us for our Honor and Recognition Night to celebrate these professionals, (click here) to purchase a ticket for just $10. Dinner is included in the cost of the ticket.

High School Physical Education

Laura Aleccia – Sunnyside High School


Middle School Physical Education

Logan Dewe – Palo Verde School

Palo Verde

Elementary Physical Education

Julie Sparks – Desert Canyon Elementary


Adapted Physical Education

Angie Caruso – Cochise Elementary


Rookie Health and Physical Education

Christine Conrad  – Kerr Elementary 


Future Professional

Elizabeth Gonzalez  – Arizona State University

Polytechnic Campus – Mesa

Innovation Award

Kyle Bragg – Anasazi Elementary


Ina E. Gittings Pioneer Award

Dr. Jack Chisum – Arizona State University

Downtown Campus – Phoenix