AZHPE - Shape Arizona

2018 Teacher of the Year Announcements

Matt Mixer, Executive Director Adapted Physical Education, Best Practices, Future Professionals, Marketing, Membership, News & Events, Partnerships, Public Relations, State Convention

Congratulations to the following Health and Physical Education Teachers for being named 2018 Teachers of the Year. Please join us at the State Convention, Wednesday, October 24 – 25 at the Phoenix Convention Center to honor these individuals and to thank them for their service to our profession.

Arizona Health and Physical Education will present the Teacher of the Year Awards at the Honor and Recognition Night which will be held on Tuesday, October 23 at the Children’s Museum of Phoenix.


High School Physical Education

Nick Cornell  – Campo Verde High School



Middle School Physical Education

Jerry Osborne – Legacy Traditional School

Queen Creek


Elementary Physical Education

Kyle Bragg – Anasazi Elementary School



Dance Educator

Jennifer Duxbury  – Highland High School



Rookie Health and Physical Education

Alex Sanchez – Brunson-Lee Elementary School

Phoenix (Balsz District)


Adapted Physical Education

Travis Andersen  – Chandler School District



Administrator of the Year

Lisa Creaser – Highland Junior High School

Mesa (Gilbert District)